You are twenty, you are a woman.

Girlpower

During lunch with my uncle, he asked me if I knew how to cook and followed it with a floating acknowledgement of my age:

He looked at me with his eyebrow raised and asked how old I was. I could tell he knew the answer and felt some sort of victory in what I was yet to say. Some part of me wanted to lie just to keep the victory for myself.

I let it out anyway…

“I’m 20” I said.

“You are twenty…you are a woman” he said.

“Ugh”

Of course I who grunted. How many upsides can you find for being a woman today?

View original post 2,188 more words

Leave a Reply

