Self-love

Androgynous Wisdom

“My willingness to be intimate with my own deep feelings creates the space for intimacy with another.”–Shakti Gawain

Struggle: Self-esteem

Early in transition, it was difficult for me to love myself. It was hard for me to even take care of myself, so self-love seemed pretty impossible.

I spent most of my life as a people-pleaser. I hated who I was so much that I constantly sought validation from those around me. While I succeeded in school, with friends, and at home, I felt hollow.

Lesson: Self-love

One day, I got tired of lying and just couldn’t do it anymore. Sure, the rewards that came with compliance were yanked away. But other rewards came into my life. I started small and worked outward:

  • ate foods I enjoyed
  • did free-time activities I liked
  • spent time with people who loved ME
  • made decisions that would help me (little and big)

Some helpful decisions included:

  • finding a…

View original post 58 more words

Leave a Reply

